Ambitious? Digital Media Masters Student looking to create an AR experience for thesis: Can anyone give me a run down of what is involved

Hi There,

I’m currently looking to develop an Ar experience for my thesis project in Digital Media. I have just under three months to develop a working prototype.

I have basic programming knowledge, as in I have just about covered the fundamentals of JavaScript…

What would such a task involve?

Any feedback or help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

A

Hi Anthony,

Not sure how to answer that; it really depends on what you plan on doing. If you are considering using Argon4 and/or argon.js, I would check out the samples we created with AFrame (I’d look at the “development” version, as it will be moved to the release very soon: https://aframe-develop.argonjs.io) and see if they “cover the bases” you need. If you aren’t already familiar with Aframe, you should check it out at aframe.io

Creating an argon.js website is pretty similar to creating any website, in terms of how you’d develop, build and deploy.

@blair
Great thank you for that info Blair!
I’m looking to achieve something similar to a project that incorporated Argon code called " Finding Alberta" Link: http://mw17.mwconf.org/paper/augmented-and-mixed-reality-design-for-contested-and-challenging-histories-postcolonial-approaches-to-site-specific-storytelling/

I wish to create a geo-location based AR experience for my small town in Ireland. The project idea is to have historic/ archival video footage play over real time footage to illustrate the changes my city has experience over the years.

I spoke to one of the researchers who worked on the Finding Alberta Project and she pointed me to Argon for help.

Some questions you may be able to answer: Do I need to code and develop an application to fun the AR experience? or is a web based program where the user experiences the AR through a browser?

I wouldn’t be familiar with a-frame, let me check out the link you sent.